Maine CDC Pediatric Blood Lead Testing Guidelines



Identifying Children with Lead Poisoning

Maine CDC provides services based on venous lead levels >3.5 μg/dL.

- The initial blood lead screening test may be either a venous or capillary sample.
- An elevated capillary sample (\geq 3.5 µg/dL) must be confirmed with a venous sample.

Age	Blood Lead Testing Requirements	
1 year (9 to <18 months)	Mandatory under Maine law	
2 years (18 to <36 months)	Mandatory under Maine law	
3-5 years (36 to 72 months)	 For children covered by MaineCare: If not previously tested: Mandatory blood lead test If previously tested: Recommend blood lead test yearly unless risk assessment questionnaire is negative. 	
	 For children not covered by MaineCare: Recommend blood lead test yearly unless risk assessment questionnaire is negative. 	

Risk Assessment Questionnaire - Identifies at-risk children under 6 years of age

If a child's parent or guardian answers 'yes' or 'don't know' to any of the questions below, test the child for lead.

- Does your child spend more than 10 hours per week in any house built before 1950?
- Does your child spend more than 10 hours per week in any house built before 1978 that was renovated or remodeled within the last 6 months?
- Does your child spend time with an adult whose job exposes him/her to lead? (i.e., construction, painting)
- Does your child have a sibling or playmate that has been diagnosed with lead poisoning?

Test at-risk populations annually through 5 years of age, and as clinically indicated, even if the risk assessment questionnaire is negative.

At-risk populations:

- Recent immigrants or international adoptees
- Children whose parents immigrated to the U.S.
- Children with pica behavior
- Children with neurodevelopmental disabilities or conditions such as autism that put them at higher risk for hand-to-mouth behavior
- Children entering foster care

Test all recently arrived refugee children.

- Perform a blood lead test for children 6 months to 16 years upon entry to the U.S.
- Within 3-6 months of initial test, conduct follow-up test for children 6 months to 6 years, regardless
 of initial test result.
- Consult U.S. CDC Recommendations for Lead Poisoning Prevention in Newly Arrived Refugee Children https://bit.ly/3RCDr31

Recommended Confirmation and Follow-up Schedule



Clinical Actions for Pediatric Blood Lead Levels ≥3.5 µg/dL

- The pediatric blood lead reference level is 3.5 μ g/dL. Confirm capillary screening test results >3.5 μ g/dL with a venous test.
- The sooner providers confirm capillary blood lead tests with venous specimens, the sooner Maine CDC can initiate services to identify and eliminate the sources of their lead exposure.
- The higher the capillary test result, the more urgent the need for a timely confirmatory venous test.
- Confirmatory testing is not required when an initial screening test is performed using a venous sample.

Capillary Blood Lead Level	Confirm with Venous Test
3.5 - <10 μg/dL	As soon as possible, but no later than 3 months
10 - <20 μg/dL	As soon as possible, but no later than 1 month
20 - <45 μg/dL	As soon as possible, but no later than 2 weeks
≥45 µg/dL Urgent Action Needed	Immediately, but no later than 48 hours (place order as STAT)

Venous Blood Lead Level	Follow-up Venous Test Schedule	Recommended Actions Based on Confirmed Venous BLL
3.5 - <10 μg/dL	Within 3 months*	 Complete risk assessment questionnaire to identify potential sources of exposure Educate on key messages (see Quick Guide page) Inform patient that Maine CDC will be reaching out
10 - <20 μg/dL	Within 2 months*	 Items above plus: Ensure child does not have iron deficiency Check child's development to ensure appropriate milestones are being met
20 - <45 μg/dL	Within 1 month*	 Items above plus: Consider performing an abdominal x-ray to check for lead-based paint chips and other radiopaque foreign bodies
≥45 µg/dL Urgent Action Needed	Immediately (place order as STAT)	 Items above plus: Perform complete history and physical exam including detailed neurological exam Urgent consult with Northern New England Poison Center: 1-800-222-1222

^{*}You may elect to repeat blood lead tests on children with an elevated venous blood lead level within 1 month to ensure that the blood lead level is not rising. Consult U.S. CDC guidelines: https://bit.ly/3QyeaFZ